Elementary Assessments

Middle Level Assessments

High School Level Assessments


What is ACCESS?

States must administer an English language proficiency assessment to limited English proficient students in grades K through 12 in order to comply with the requirements of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, 20 USC 6301 et seq. (2002). For the 2015–16 school year, the assessment administered for this purpose will be ACCESS for ELLs® through the World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA) Consortium. The English Language Development Assessment (ELDA) will no longer be administered.

Alternate ACCESS for ELLs® is an assessment of English language proficiency for students in grades 1 through 12 who are classified as English language learners (ELLs) and have significant cognitive disabilities that prevent their meaningful participation in the ACCESS for ELLs® assessment. This assessment will also be available for those students who meet the criteria for an alternate assessment.

Who takes ACCESS?

All students in grades K-12 who are determined to have limited English proficiency – based upon the completion of a Home Language Survey and the initial assessment of their English proficiency – must take ACCESS for ELLs® or Alternate ACCESS each spring. This includes those students whose parents have waived direct ESOL services.

Students with limited English proficiency must continue to take ACCESS until they have scored at Level 5, Fully English Proficient. The Level 5 score must be from an ELDA grades 3–5 or higher test.

ACT WorkKeys®

The South Carolina Code of Laws, section 59-18-325, requires that all eleventh grade students take ACT WorkKeys®.

With the exception of students eligible for alternate assessments, all eleventh grade students must take ACT WorkKeys®. Eleventh grade students are determined using the 9GR PowerSchool definition—i.e., students in the third year after their initial enrollment in the ninth grade must take ACT WorkKeys.

ACT WorkKeys is a job skills assessment. The statewide testing program includes three timed tests taking 45 minutes each: Reading for Information (33 items), Applied Mathematics (33 items), and Locating Information (38 items).

*For more information contact ACT, Inc. Information presented in this section was obtained by SCDE from the ACT, Inc. website and is accurate as of June 22, 2015.

End-of-Course Examination Program (EOCEP)

What is the EOCEP?
The Education Accountability Act of 1998 requires the development of end-of-course examinations in gateway or benchmark courses. The program is called End-of-Course-Examination Program (EOCEP).

The examinations, which count 20 percent of the students’ final grade in each gateway or benchmark course, currently include Algebra 1, English 1, U.S. History and the Constitution, and Biology 1.

All students must pass a high school credit course in science for which there is a state end-of-course assessment during their high school career. Currently that test is the Biology 1 EOCEP test.
Who takes the EOCEP tests?
All public middle school, high school, alternative school, virtual school, adult education, and home school students who are enrolled in courses in which the academic standards corresponding to the EOCEP tests are taught, regardless of course name or number, must take the appropriate tests.

When are the EOCEP tests administered?
Each examination will be administered to the students at the end of the semester in which they are scheduled to complete the course.
Distribution of Individual Student Score Reports
The Department of Education provides paper copies of Individual Student Reports to districts. These reports are shipped from the testing contractors directly to the District Test Coordinators (DTCs). DTCs are responsible for ensuring that these reports are distributed to parents and schools as soon as possible following receipt.

South Carolina Alternate Assessment (SC-Alt)

South Carolina Alternate Assessments

An Alternate Assessment on Alternate Achievement Standards (AA-AAS) is an assessment for students with significant cognitive disabilities who are assessed against alternate achievement standards as they are unable to participate in the general assessment program even with appropriate accommodations. As many students who participate in alternate assessment are non-graded, these students are assessed on grade-level content based on their age commensurate with the ages of students who are typically in the tested grades.

South Carolina Alternate Assessment (SC-Alt) in Science and Social Studies

The SC-Alt in science/biology and social studies is administered to students who meet the participation guidelines for alternate assessment and who are ages 9–13 and 16 as of September 1 of the assessment year. (These are the ages of students who are typically in grades 4–8 and 11). The assessment consists of a series of performance tasks that are linked to the grade level academic standards although at a less complex level. See the South Carolina Alternate Assessment Social Studies Instructional and Assessment Guide and the South Carolina Alternate Assessment Science Instructional and Assessment Guide.

South Carolina College-and Career-Ready Assessments (SC READY)

Overview of SC READY
The South Carolina College-and Career-Ready Assessments (SC READY) are statewide assessments in English language arts (ELA) and mathematics that will meet all of the requirements of Acts 155 and 200, the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) , the Individuals with Disabilities Education Improvement Act (IDEA), and the Assessments Peer Review guidance.

All students in grades 3–8 are required to take the SC READY except those who qualify for the South Carolina National Center and State Collaborative (SC-NCSC).

SC READY Assessments are not timed, and both computer-based and paper-based testing will be available. Data Recognition Corporation (DRC) is the contractor.

South Carolina Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (SCPASS) Science and Social Studies Grades 4-8

About SCPASS–Subjects and Grade Levels Tested
The South Carolina Palmetto Assessment of State Standards (SCPASS) is a statewide assessment administered to students in grades four through eight. All students in these grade levels are required to take the SCPASS except those who qualify for the South Carolina Alternate Assessment. SCPASS includes tests in two subjects: science and social studies.

South Carolina National Center and State Collaborative (SC-NCSC)

SC-NCSC Alternate Assessment in ELA and Math

South Carolina has been a member for the last five years of the National Center and State Collaborative (NCSC), a project led by five centers and 26 states to build an alternate assessment based on alternate achievement standards (AA-AAS) linked to the state College and Career Readiness Standards (SCCCRs) in English language arts and mathematics for students with the most significant cognitive disabilities. As a member of the NCSC consortium, the South Carolina Department of Education (SCDE) along with 14 partner states administered the first operational form of the assessment during the spring of 2015. Visit the NCSC website for more information on this project:

Office of Assessment and Accountability Links

Office of Assessment and Accountability



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2022 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.